Parsec Award Nomination

Parsec-Awards

What does it mean?

Well, to quote their site:

Podcast shows are nominated by fans, and finalists are chosen by a yearly steering committee. Those finalists are then voted on by an independent panel of judges from outside of podcasting. Awards are given in several categories ranging from content to audio quality.

If you listen to podcasts (like Pseudopod or The Drabblecast; ones I personally never miss!), then after a while you’ll hear about it. You’ll also see the Parsec logo pinned on their home pages. It’s a big deal in the podcasting world, no doubt.

My short story ‘The Killing Machine’ (Pseudopod, Episode 347, August 2013) has been nominated for the 2014 round! This happened a while ago, but I’ve been leery of mentioning it to anyone because… here’s that question again… what does it mean?

Well, to be honest I’m still not all that sure. There are heaps of nominations in bazillions of categories. Anyway, it’s still something I guess. One friend of mine in particular keeps saying ‘Why don’t you tell people?’ because she thinks this makes me legendary or something. Well.

As far as I can tell, it really won’t mean all that much unless I make some kind of shortlist. For now, I guess I’m free to exaggerate my way into bragging rights?!

PseudopodFor the curious:

Here’s a link to the Parsec Awards site: http://www.parsecawards.com/

…and here’s one to ‘The Killing Machine’. Free listening! My story is second in the lineup: http://pseudopod.org/2013/08/16/pseudopod-347-flash-on-the-borderlands-xvi-trial-discipline/

If you have a taste for the bizarre, and you like your fiction performed for you while you wash dishes or brush your teeth, I also highly recommend The Drabblecast: http://www.drabblecast.org/

drabblecast

About karenrunge

~Writer, Artist, Horror Film Addict~ Stories out with Shock Totem, Grey Matter Press, Books of the Dead Press, Pseudopod, among others. HWA Member.
This entry was posted in News, Published Stories, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

