Coming Soon: ‘Going Home’ in Savage Beasts

grey matter press logosavage beasts banner

Finally! I’ve been waiting a long time to announce this!

A while ago, Grey Matter Press put out one of the best submission calls for an anthology that I’ve ever seen: write a horror story inspired by a song. I’m sure I’m not the only writer who saw that call, busted out their teen self-harming kits and started blasting moody music. Well, it doesn’t always work like that and my first attempts at creating a story for this were total disasters. (Just as well–those blades are rusty.) I’d more or less given up on the idea of submitting at all when the stars aligned over a rough night I had with my fiancé, and Trent Reznor (always the gent) kindly stepped in over the speakers.

My story ‘Going Home’ was inspired by the song ‘Piggy’, and it follows a young couple as they head out to make the introductions with their future in-laws.

I wanna... never mind.

I wanna… never mind.

This is easily the closest I have ever come to writing a romance story. But hang on, guys–if you know Nine Inch Nails at all (and in particular if you’re, um, close to The Downward Spiral) you’ll understand that this is not exactly about plucking petals and dreaming up baby names. Is it still romantic? Well, I like to think so. But I’ll leave that to you to decide. You can always take a shower later.

‘Going Home’ is one of eleven stories that will be featured alongside Paul Michael Anderson, Edward Morris, JC Michael,  T. Fox Dunham, Konstantine Paradias, E. Michael Lewis, the fabulous Shawn Macomber and the truly wonderful John FD Taff, among others. The Savage Beasts anthology will be unleashed on August 11th.

To read the official announcement and get a look at the full table of contents, head over here.

NIN Logo

About karenrunge

~Writer, Artist, Horror Film Addict~ Stories out with Shock Totem, Grey Matter Press, Books of the Dead Press, Pseudopod, among others. HWA Member.
This entry was posted in News, Published Stories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Coming Soon: ‘Going Home’ in Savage Beasts

  1. Yumna Bhana says:

    Great stuff Droog ☺
    Soaring as we always knew you would!

    Not my flavour of romance I’m sure!

    Love and love
    Na

Leave a Reply

