Coming Soon: Debut Novel SEEING DOUBLE

gmp_logo3Well this is shaping up to be an interesting year. Unlike last year, the vast majority of which was spent either hunkered over my laptop, or daydreaming about being hunkered over my laptop. And taking notes, lots of notes. Why? Because last year I wrote a book. And this year, it’s getting published.

Earlier this month, Grey Matter Press officially announced the publication of my novel “Seeing Double”. It’s taken me a while to act on it, because I still can’t believe it’s actually happening. A book. An entire book. Of mine. My name on the cover, my creation inside. Surreal, wonderful as that particular word is, doesn’t come close to capturing my feelings around this.

But… YAY! Maybe that’s the more important word for now.

“Seeing Double” is an exploration into sadism. What makes it tick, what shapes does it take, what kinds of nightmare fuel are strong enough to fire it into action. I’ve been asked before, as I’m sure many horror and dark literature writers have, if I ever manage to scare myself. There’s a scale to that, but the answer is usually yes. And in this case, I can’t scream YES loud enough. It was a tough one to write, mentally very stimulating, required hours of research, and a lot of reflection. The kind of reflection that makes you worry you might start cracking mirrors. In short, it’s the type of horror I personally love the most: extreme. Fellow fans of the hardcore, I do sincerely hope you’ll welcome and enjoy my reprobate little babe! This is my firstborn, and mother is very proud, though she probably really, really shouldn’t be…!

Thanks to the ever amazing Sharon Lawson and Anthony Rivera, editors at Grey Matter Press, for all their incredible support. They’re fantastic to work with and I’m so honoured to have my debut novel in their skilful hands.

“Seeing Double” is tentatively set for release in September this year. Details to follow.

(And… YAY!)

 

About karenrunge

~Writer, Artist, Horror Film Addict~ Stories out with Shock Totem, Grey Matter Press, Books of the Dead Press, Pseudopod, among others. HWA Member.
This entry was posted in News, Published Stories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Coming Soon: Debut Novel SEEING DOUBLE

  1. Shane Keene says:

    I can’t begin to tell you how excited I was to hear this news, Karen. One of the books I most look forward to this year. Yay!!!

  2. Kristi Heck says:

    Congrats lovely I knew you’d do it!

Leave a Reply

